Dubai Neurology - Neurological Disorders

 
 


 

FAQs  | Site Map  | |  Print this Page


   
  Other Disorders
 


Providing you with detailed information about all neurological disorders is beyond the scope of this web site.  Instead, I have compiled a list of useful website links that you can refer to for accurate information.  When available, sites in Arabic are also listed.  Periodically new information will be added for each topic specifically.

These sites have been compiled from several sources including: 

  • The American Academy of Neurology Patient Information Guide
  • The US Department of Health & Human Services Booklet of Neurological Disorders – Voluntary Health Agencies & Other Patient Resources
  • General Search of the World Wide Web

The following sites provide information about various Neurological Disorders:

Stories about persons living with various Neurological disorders.  www.thebrainmatters.org
National Institute of Neurological Disorders & Stroke.  www.ninds.nih.gov
The American Academy of Neurology.  www.aan.com

The following sites address caregiver issues: 

National Family Caregivers Association. www.nfcacares.org
Family Caregiver Alliance.  www.caregiver.org
Well Spouse Foundation.  www.wellspouse.org
C-Mac Informational Services/Caregiver News.  www.caregivernews.org

Other Resources:

Brave Kids. www.bravekids.org
Friends’ Health Connection. www.friendshealthconnection.org
MUMS National Parent-to-Parent Network. www.netnet.net/mums
National Council on Patient Information & Education.



National Organization for Rare Disorders. www.rarediseases.org

Guide to Individual Neurological Disorders

Acoustic Neuroma
Acoustic Neuroma Association www.ANAUSA.org
International Radiosurgery Support Association www.irsa.org

Aneurysm
Brain Aneurysm Foundation www.bafound.org
American Stroke Association  www.strokeassociation.org
American Association of Neurological Surgeons www.aans.org

Angelman Syndrome
Angelman Syndrome Foundation  www.angelman.org  

Aphasia
National Aphasia Association  www.aphasia.org
Aphasia Hope Foundation www.aphasiahope.org
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association www.asha.org  

Ataxia
National Ataxia Foundation  www.ataxia.org
Friedreich’s Ataxia Research Alliance www.frda.org
Ataxia Telangiectasia Children’s Project www.atcp.org
Ataxia Telangiectasia Medical Research Foundation www.gspartners.com/at
Ataxia Telangiectasia Project www.atproject.org 
Muscular Dystrophy Association www.mdausa.org 
Attention Deficit & Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
Attention Deficit Disorder Association  www.add.org
Children & Adults with ADHD  www.chadd.org


Back Pain
National Institute of Arthritis & Musculoskeletal & Skin Diseases Information Clearinghouse www.niams.nih.gov
American Academy of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation www.aapmr.org
American Chiropractic Association  www.amerchiro.org
American Academy of Family Physicians www.aafp.org
American Association of Neurological Surgeons  www.aans.org
American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons  www.aaos.org

Behcet’s Disease
American Behcet’s Disease Association  www.behcets.com

Belpharospasm
Benign Essential Blepharospasm Research Foundation  www.blepharospasm.org
Dystonia Medical Research Foundation www.dystonia-foundation.org
Worldwide Education & Awareness for Movement Disorders  www.wemove.org

Brain Injury
Brain Injury Association www.biausa.org
Brain Trauma Foundation www.braintrauma.org
Coma Recovery Association www.comarecovery.org
Head Injury Hotline (The Phoenix Project) www.headinjury.com
Perspectives Network www.tbi.org    

Brain Tumor
American Brain Tumor Association www.abta.org
Brain Tumor society www.tbts.org
National Brain Tumor Foundation www.braintumor.org
Pediatric Brain Tumor Foundation www.pbtfus.org
Children’s Brain Tumor Foundation www.cbtf.org
Childhood Brain Tumor Foundation  www.childhoodbraintumor.org
Musella Foundation for Brain Tumor Research & Information  www.virtualtrials.com
Pituitary Network Association www.pituitary.org
International Radiosurgery Support Association www.irsa.org

Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons  www.aaos.org
Association for Repetitive Motion Syndromes www.certifiedpst.com/arms/
Work Related Musculoskeletal Disorders Organization www.wmsd.org  
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention National Institute for Occupational Safety & Health  www.cdc.gov/niosh
National Institute of Arthritis & Musculoskeletal & Skin Diseases  www.nih.gov/niams/
US Department of Labor Occupational Safety & Health Administration  (OSHA) www.osha.gov
National Chronic Pain Outreach Association  www.chronicpain.org
American Chronic Pain Association. www.theacpa.org

Charcot-Marie-Tooth Disease
Charcot-Marie-Tooth International  www.cmtint.org
Charcot-Marie-Tooth Association www.charcot-marie-tooth.org
The Neuropathy Association www.neuropathy.org
Muscular Dystrophy Association www.mdausa.org

Coma
Coma Recovery Association  www.comarecovery.org

Dizziness & Balance
Ear Foundation/Meniere’s Network www.earfoundation.org
Vestibular Disorders Association  www.vestibular.org 

Dyslexia
International Dyslexia Society www.interdys.org

Dystonia
Dystonia Medical Research Foundation www.dystonia-foundation.org
National Spasmodic Torticollis Association www.torticollis.org
Spasmodic Torticollis Dystonia/ST Dystonia  www.spasmodictorticollis.org
Benign Essential Blepharospasm Research Foundation  www.blepharospasm.org
National Spasmodic Dysphonia Association  www.dysphonia.org/nsda
Worldwide Education & Awareness for Movement Disorders www.wemove.org
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association www.asha.org   

Erb’s Palsy
United Brachial Plexus Network www.ubpn.org
Brachial Plexus Palsy Foundation www.membrane.com/bpp/

Hemifacial Spasm
Worldwide Education & Awareness for Movement Disorders www.wemove.org

Huntington’s Disease
Huntington’s Disease Society of America www.hdsa.org

Hydrocephalus
Hydrocephalus Association www.hydroassoc.org
National Hydrocephalus Foundation  www.nhfonline.org

Learning Disabilities
Learning Disabilities Association of America  www.ldaamerica.org
National Center for Learning Disabilities www.ld.org

Meniere’s Disease
Ear Foundation/Meniere’s Network www.earfoundation.org
Vestibular Disorders Association  www.vestibular.org 

Meningitis
Meningitis Foundation of America www.musa.org
National Meningitis Foundation www.nmaus.org
National Institute of Allergy & Infectious Diseases (NIAID)  www.niaid.nih.gov

Moebius Syndrome
Moebius Syndrome Foundation  www.moebiussyndrome.com

Muscular Dystrophy
Fascioscapulohumeral Dystrophy Society  www.fshsociety.org
Muscular Dystrophy Association  www.mdausa.org
Muscular Dystrophy Family foundation www.mdff.org
Parent Project Muscular Dystrophy www.parentprojectmd.org

Myoclonus
Myoclonus Research Foundation www.myoclonus.com
Opsoclonus Myoclonus Support Network  www.geocities.com/opso-myoclonus
Worldwide Education & Awareness for Movement Disorders  www.wemove.org

Myositis
The Myositis Association www.myositis.org
Muscular Dystrophy Association www.mdausa.org
American Autoimmune Related Disease Association www.aarda.org
Arthritis Foundation  www.arthritis.org 


Myotonic Dystrophy

International Myotonic Dystrophy Association www.myotonicdystrophy.org
Muscular Dystrophy Association www.mdausa.org
Muscular Dystrophy Family foundation www.mdff.org
Parent Project Muscular Dystrophy www.parentprojectmd.org

Narcolepsy
Narcolepsy Network, Inc. www.narcolepsynetwork.org
National Sleep Foundation www.sleepfoundation.org
American Sleep Apnea Association www.sleepapnea.org

Neurofibromatosis
Neurofibromatosis, Inc. www.nfinc.org
National Neurofibromatosis Foundation  www.nf.org
March of Dimes Birth Defects Foundation www.marchofdimes.com
Acoustic Neuroma Association www.ANAUSA.org

Paralysis
National Spinal Cord Injury Association www.spinalcord.org
Spinal Cord Society www.members.aol.com/scsweb 
Christopher Reeve Paralysis Foundation www.christopherreeve.org
Miami Project to Cure Paralysis / The Buoniconti Fund www.miamiproject.org
Daniel Heumann Fund for Spinal Cord Research www.heumannfund.org
Geoffrey Lance Foundation for Spinal Cord Injury Research & Support  www.geofflance.com

Porphyria
American Porphyria Foundation www.enterprise.net/apf

Polio / Postpolio Syndrome
Post-Polio Health International www.post-polio.org
March of Dimes Birth Defects Foundation  www.marchofdimes.com
Polio Connection of America www.geocities.com/w1066w 

Progressive Supranuclear Palsy
Society for Progressive Supranuclear Palsy www.psp.org
Worldwide Education & Awareness for Movement Disorders  www.wemove.org

Pseudotumor Cerebrii
Pseudotumor Cerebri Support Network  www.pseudotumorcerebri.com
Intracranial Hypertension Syndrome www.ihrfoundation.org

Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy
American RSD (CRPS) Hope Group www.rsdhope.org
RSDS (CRPS) Association   www.rsds.org
American Chronic Pain Association www.theacpa.org
American Pain Foundation www.painfoundation.org
National Chronic Pain Outreach Association www.chronicpain.org
National Foundation for the Treatment of Pain www.paincare.org

Spinal Muscular Atrophy
Spinal Muscular Atrophy Foundation www.smafoundation.org
Families of Spinal Muscular Atrophy   www.fsma.org
Fight SMA/Andrew’s Buddies www.fightsma.com
Muscular Dystrophy Association  www.mdausa.org

Syringomyelia
American Syringomyelia Alliance Project www.asap.org

Tinnitus
American Tinnitus Association www.ata.org
American Academy of Otolaryngology – Head & Neck Surgery www.entnet.org

Tourette Syndrome & Tics
Tourette Syndrome Association, Inc. www.tsa.usa.org
Tourette Syndrome Foundation of Canada www.tourette.ca
World Wide Education & Awareness for Movement Disorders  www.wemove.org

Tremor
International Essential Tremor Foundation www.essentialtremor.org
Tremor Action Network www.tremoraction.org
National Ataxia Foundation www.ataxia.org
World Wide Education & Awareness for Movement Disorders  www.wemove.org

Tuberous Sclerosis
Tuberous Sclerosis Alliance www.tsalliance.org

Wilson’s Disease
Wilson’s Disease Association International www.wilsonsdisease.org
National Center for the Study of Wilson’s Disease www.wilsonsdiseasecnter.org 
American Liver Foundation www.liverfoundation.org

Autism/Asperger's Syndrome
(Autistic Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Delay)


 

Alzheimer’s Disease & Dementia
Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
Bells Palsy
Epilepsy
Guillain-Barre Syndrome
Headaches & Migraines
Multiple Sclerosis
Myasthenia Gravis
Neuropathy
Neuropathic Pain
Pain
Parkinson’s Disease
Restless Leg Syndrome
Sleep Disorders
Stroke & TIA
Trigeminal Neuralgia
Other Disorders
© 2006 D M Kayed, MD, FAAN Dubai Neurology
Designed by Middle East Infoway